2018-19 CALS Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship Awards recipients announced

CALS has selected the 2018-19 graduate fellowship recipients. The College would like to thank the donors for making these awards possible and the selection committees that reviewed the nominations.

The estate of Elsa Thomsen established the Louis and Elsa Thomsen Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowships to support graduate students who demonstrate excellence in research. Three fellowships will be awarded for 2018-19. The recipients include:

  • Christine Anhalt-Depies, Wildlife Ecology Degree Program, PI – Adena Rissman & Mark Rickenbach, Department of Forest & Wildlife Ecology
  • Kelly Mitok, Biochemistry Degree Program, PI – Alan Attie, Department of Biochemistry
  • Esteban Quinones, Agricultural & Applied Economics Degree Program, PI – Brad Barham, Department of Agricultural & Applied Economics

The Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association established the Wisconsin Potato Industry Board Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship to support a graduate student who demonstrates excellence in research in the areas of ground water resources or potato research. The recipient of the 2018-19 award is:

  • Kaitlin Morey Gold – Department of Plant Pathology, PI – Amanda Gevens, Department of Plant Pathology

Congratulations to all of the recipients of the 2018-19 CALS fellowship awards.