Time to nominate: Faculty teaching awards, Hilldale awards, Gorst Herfurth award

The UW-Madison Secretary of the Faculty invites nominations for the following awards and funding opportunities. Please go to for more information, instructions, and specific contact information.

Faculty Distinguished Teaching Awards
Nominations Due: Monday, 4 December 2017
The Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award, Chancellor’s Inclusive Excellence Award, Class of 1955 Excellence Award, William H. Kiekhofer Teaching Award, Emil Steiger Teaching Award, and Van Hise Outreach Teaching Awardall recognize outstanding and exceptional teaching by faculty of any specialty or rank. Nominations are accepted from faculty members, departments, or student organizations, and should be coordinated with the chair of the nominee’s department. A list of past recipients and nominating procedures are available at

Hilldale Awards and Hilldale Lecture Series
Nominations Due: Tuesday, 15 December 2017
The Hilldale Awards recognize distinguished contributions to teaching, research, and service and are awarded annually to one faculty member in each division. The Hilldale Lecture Series showcases distinguished thinkers whose contributions to contemporary culture and science have received international recognition and acclaim. One lecture is funded annually in each division. Nominations are accepted from department chairs. Lists of past recipients and nominating procedures are available at (click on “Hilldale Awards” or “Hilldale Lectures”).

Genevieve Gorst Herfurth Award for Outstanding Research in Social Sciences 
Nominations due: Friday, 15 January 2018
One award is made annually to a currently enrolled doctoral student in the social sciences who has demonstrated outstanding research and scholarly writing accomplishments while a graduate student at UW-Madison. Nominations are accepted from social sciences faculty and multiple nominations are accepted. Nominating procedures are available at