Four students receive Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowships

The College of Agricultural and Life Sciences (CALS) has awarded the 2015-16 Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowships (WDGF). The College congratulates all of these fellowship recipients. We would like to thank the donors for making these awards possible and the committees that reviewed the nominations.

The estate of Elsa Thomsen established the Louis and Elsa Thomsen Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowships to support graduate students who demonstrate excellence in research. Three fellowships are being awarded for 2015-16. The recipients of the fellowships and their respective degree programs include: Mengyi Cao, Microbiology Doctoral Training Program; Andrew Reidenbach, Integrated Program in Biochemistry; and Joseph Spraker, Plant Pathology.

The Wisconsin Potato Industry Board-Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship for 2015-16 is awarded to Maribeth Kniffin, Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies, Environment and Resources. The Wisconsin Potato Industry Board endowed an annual fellowship for the purpose of funding a graduate fellowship in potato or water research.

Our congratulations to all the recipients of this year’s WDGF awards and our thanks to the donors who made these awards possible.