CALS Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Student Fellowships awarded

The Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowships have been awarded for 2013-14, and the College congratulates all of these fellowship recipients. We also want to thank the donors for making these awards possible, the faculty who submitted nominations, and the committees that reviewed nominations.

The Louis and Elsa Thomsen Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowships were established by the estate of Elsa Thomsen and are designated to support graduate students who have established an outstanding research record. Four fellowships have been awarded for 2013-14. The recipients of the fellowships are: Jill Hopke, Department of Life Sciences Communication; Daniel Mooney, Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics; Kristen Murfin, Department of Bacteriology; and Jarred Rensvold, Department of Biochemistry.

The Richard M. Heins Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship for 2013-14 has been awarded to Yi-Cheng Wang, Department of Biological Systems Engineering. This fellowship was established by Richard M. Heins who is an alumnus of UW-Madison.

The Wisconsin Potato Industry Board Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship for 2013-14 has been awarded to Ana Cristina Fulladolsa Palma, Department of Plant Pathology. This fellowship was endowed by the Wisconsin Potato Industry Board for the purpose of funding a graduate fellowship in potato research.

Again, our congratulations to all the recipients of this year’s awards, and our thanks to the donors who made these awards possible.