Nominate CALS alums for 2011 Forward Under 40 awards

Nominations are now open for the 2011 Forward under 40 awards. This annual honor from the Wisconsin Alumni Association recognizes UW-Madison graduates who live the Wisconsin Idea – the 106-year-old guiding philosophy behind UW outreach efforts to aid people in Wisconsin and throughout the world.

Ever since WAA created the Forward under 40 award three years ago, great things continue to happen: Award winners have heard from former classmates and professors inspired by their stories, and some of them have returned to campus to speak with students.

A number of CALS alums have received the honor in the past. Examples include 2010 recipient Aaron Bishop, who earned undergraduate degrees in genetics and bacteriology, 2010 recipient Ahna Skop, assistant professor of genetics, and 2008 recipient Leslie Goldman, a nutritional sciences grad.

“It’s been an honor to tell the incredible stories of our award winners over the last three years,” says Paula Bonner, WAA president and CEO. “Their commitment to the Wisconsin Idea and demonstrated, continued ties to the UW have been overwhelming, and we’re looking forward to bringing a new group of dedicated Badgers into the mix with the 2011 awards.”

Nominations for the Forward under 40 awards will be accepted until 11:59 p.m., Central time, on Thursday, July 8. Honorees will be notified in November 2010 and featured in a special publication in March 2011.

For more information, award criteria and requirements, and to nominate an outstanding young Badger, visit

Founded in 1861, the Wisconsin Alumni Association offers UW alumni and friends a wide variety of services, including the award-winning On Wisconsin and Badger Insider magazines, career services, student scholarships, international travel opportunities and lifelong learning events. Learn more at