Five students receive CALS Graduate Student Fellowships

Congratulations to Rebecca Schewe, Emily Haga, Eulalia Abril, Michael Dougherty and Elizabeth Felnagle who have been recognized by the college their outstanding research and potential.

Senator Robert Caldwell Graduate Fellowship

The Senator Robert Caldwell Graduate Fellowship was established by Grace Caldwell Hopkins to support graduate research on behalf of her father, Senator Robert Caldwell. The fellowship for 2009-2010 has been awarded to Rebecca Schewe in the Department of Rural Sociology.

Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowships

The Wisconsin Potato Industry Board Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship for 2009-2010 has been awarded to Emily Haga in the Plant Breeding and Genetics Program in the Department of Horticulture. This fellowship was endowed by the Wisconsin Potato Industry Board for the purpose of funding a graduate fellowship in potato research.

The Louis and Elsa Thomsen Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowships were established by the estate of Elsa Thomsen and are designated to support graduate students who have established an outstanding research record. Three fellowships have been awarded for 2009-2010. The recipients of the award are: Eulalia Abril in the Mass Communications Program, Department of Life Sciences Communication; Michael Dougherty in the Development Studies Program, Department of Rural Sociology; and Elizabeth Felnagle in the Microbiology Doctoral Training Program in the Department of Bacteriology.

The College congratulates all of the fellowship recipients and thanks everyone who submitted nominations.