Handelsman honored for efforts for women in microbiology

Jo Handelsman, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor and Chair of the Department of Bacteriology received the 2008 Roche Diagnostics Alice C. Evans Award from the American Society for Microbiology at its annual meeting this week. The award honors Handelsman’s many efforts to foster the participation and advancement of women in microbiology. Alice Evans earned her MS degree at Madison in 1910 and served as the first woman president of ASM in 1928. Handelsman is the first woman to chair the UW-Madison bacteriology department.