UW–Madison Smart Restart: For information about fall semester instruction and campus operations, please visit For COVID-19 news updates, see


Congratulations to winners of the 2008 CALS faculty and staff awards. Please join us in recognizing these outstanding colleagues at the annual CALS awards program on April 23, 2008 at 3 p.m. in the Ebling Symposium Center, Microbial Sciences Building (download an invitation). A reception will follow the awards program. If you plan to attend, RSVP to to Madelyn Alt ( by April 14, 2008. Please congratulate the following individuals:

Robert G. F. and Hazel T. Spitze Land Grant Faculty Award for Excellence

  • Karen Bogenschneider, Human Development and Family Studies, School of Human Ecology

Jung Excellence in Teaching Award

  • Michel Wattiaux, Dairy Science

Spizter Excellence in Teaching Award

  • Richard Amasino, Biochemistry

J.S. Donald Short Course Teaching Award

  • Daniel Schaefer, Animal Sciences

WALSAA Outstanding Advising Award

  • Richard Hartel, Food Science

Excellence in International Activities

  • Caitilyn Allen, Plant Pathology

Pound Extension Award

  • Kent Weigel, Dairy Science

Pound Research Award

  • Aseem Ansari, Biochemistry
  • Tomas Prolla, Genetics

Arthur J. Maurer Extra Mile Award

  • James Ntambi, Biochemistry

Academic Staff Awards for Excellence

  • Leadership – Chuck Kostichka, Hancock Ag Research Station
  • Service – Jean Petersen, Genetics
  • Research – Sandra Bertics, Dairy Science

Classified Staff Recognition Awards

  • Carol Peterson, Biochemistry
  • Helen Thompson, Entomology
  • Dan Jennings, Arlington Ag Research Station
  • Kathy Monson, Animal Sciences
  • Debra Carroll, Forest and Wildlife Ecology
  • Cathy Michael, Biochemistry