Time to nominate for Herfurth and Kubly Awards for Comprehensive Undergraduate Excellence

The Provost’s Office and the Undergraduate Academic Awards Office seek the nomination of outstanding seniors for the Theodore Herfurth and Teddy Kubly Awards for Comprehensive Undergraduate Excellence. Originally titled the Awards for Initiative and Efficiency, these are among the oldest and most prestigious undergraduate awards at UW-Madison.

Two awards of $2,000 are given annually to senior students who have made the most effective use of their time at UW-Madison. A committee comprised of faculty and staff, a former award recipient, and a representative of the donor’s family selects recipients based on four criteria:

–Academic achievement
–Leadership in significant and constructive extra-curricular activities
–Financial self-support (employment, scholarships, etc.)
–Effective oral and written communication

Nominated students must be enrolled during the spring 2022 semester and plan to graduate in May, August, or December of 2022.

Nomination Deadline: January 24, 2022.

Nomination Form: Fill out a short online nomination form (student name and email) at

If the link does not work, try copying and pasting the URL into your browser. Alternately, you can email with the names and email addresses of the students you wish to nominate.

The UAA Office will invite nominated students to complete a short application.

Please contact Julie Stubbs or Debbie Cole at the Undergraduate Academic Awards Office with questions (265-2428, or