Dietram Scheufele named UWF Chair Taylor-Bascom Professor

Dietram Scheufele, professor of life sciences communication, has been selected as the first UWF Chair Taylor-Bascom Professor. This campus-level professorship was recently established by the University of Wisconsin Foundation in honor of Frances S. Taylor (BS’68 Education), who served a term as chair of the UWF board of directors. This is a five-year professorship for the period July 1, 2019 through June 30, 2024, and will be renewed until a permanent chair is established or awarded.

Scheufele is an expert on science communication, political communication, and science and technology policy, with a focus on public attitudes and policy dynamics surrounding emerging science. He is an elected fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and currently co-chairs the National Academy of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine’s Standing Committee on Advancing Science Communication Research and Practice, and serves on NASEM’s Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education Advisory Committee.