The CALS community is invited to the 2019 CALS Awards to help celebrate the college’s staff and faculty honorees, including 2019 CALS faculty and staff award winners and 2018 recipients of college and department professorships. The awards ceremony will take place on Wednesday, May 1, 2019 at 3 p.m. in the Microbial Sciences Building’s Ebling Auditorium. Following the ceremony, a reception will be held in the Microbial Sciences Building’s first floor atrium.

Academic Staff Award for Excellence in Leadership

Jamie Nack • Forest and Wildlife Ecology

Academic Staff Award for Excellence in Service

Caitlin Bourbeau • Community and Environmental Sociology
John L. Wipperfurth • Russell Laboratories

CALS Equity and Diversity Award

Sara E. Patterson • Horticulture

Excellence in International Activities Award

Marvin Wickens • Biochemistry

J. S. Donald Short Course Teaching Award

Mark J. Renz • Agronomy

Pound Extension Award

Damon Smith • Plant Pathology

Pound Research Award

Jonathan N. Pauli • Forest and Wildlife Ecology

Robert G. F. and Hazel T. Spitze Land Grant Faculty Award for Excellence

Timothy R. Van Deelen • Forest and Wildlife Ecology

Spitzer Excellence in Teaching Award

Dietram A. Scheufele • Life Sciences Communication

University Staff Recognition Awards

Nancy Carlisle • Agricultural and Applied Economics
Lauren Dilley • Nutritional Sciences
Emmerika Sutton • Marshfield Agricultural Research Station

WALSAA Outstanding Advisor Award

David Combs • Dairy Science


College and department professorships named during the past year:

Friday Chair for Vegetable Production Research

Jed Colquhoun • Horticulture

Owen R. Fennema Professorship in Food Chemistry

Srinivasan Damodaran • Food Science

William C. Winder Professorship in Food Science

Rich Hartel • Food Science