The CALS community is invited to help celebrate the college’s staff and faculty honorees, including 2018 CALS faculty and staff award winners and 2017 recipients of college and department professorships. The awards ceremony will take place on Wednesday, May 2, 2018 at 3 p.m. in the Microbial Sciences Building’s Ebling Auditorium. Following the ceremony, a reception will be held in the Microbial Sciences Building’s first floor atrium.

Academic Staff Award for Excellence in Leadership

Leah Leighty • Conference Services

Academic Staff Award for Excellence in Research

Zachariah P. Zopp • Biological Systems Engineering

Academic Staff Award for Excellence in Service

John Jaeggi • Center for Dairy Research

Arthur J. and Ellen A. Maurer Extra Mile Award

Glen R. Stanosz • Forest & Wildlife Ecology

Atwood Teaching Award

Kit Tilmann • Genetics

CALS Equity and Diversity Award

Ahna R. Skop • Genetics

Excellence in International Activities Award

Karen D. Nielsen • Dairy Science

S. Donald Short Course Teaching Award

Gregg R. Sanford • Agronomy

Pound Extension Award

Mark J. Renz • Agronomy

Pound Research Award

Aaron Hoskins • Biochemistry

Robert G. F. and Hazel T. Spitze Land Grant Faculty Award for Excellence

Caitilyn Allen • Plant Pathology

Spitzer Excellence in Teaching Award

Stephen J. Ventura • Soil Science

University Staff Recognition Awards

Russ Draeger • Marshfield ARS
Kathy Martin-Taylor • Agricultural & Applied Economics
Pamela L. Spahn • Biological Systems Engineering

WALSAA Outstanding Advisor Award

Sarah Botham • Life Sciences Communication


College and department professorships named during the past year:

Henry C. Taylor Professorship in Agricultural and Applied Economics

Daniel J. Phaneuf • Agricultural & Applied Economics

Renk Family Chair in Agribusiness

Brian W. Gould • Agricultural & Applied Economics

William Rothermel Bascom Professorship in Soil Science

Francisco J. Arriaga • Soil Science