There are new faces in new places at Arlington Agricultural Research Station, the U.S. Dairy Forage Research Center and the OJ Noer Turfgrass Center. In the past eight months, the following three individuals assumed new leadership roles:

Shan Betzold, Dairy Herd Manager, Dairy Forage Research Center at Prairie du Sac (as of Dec. 1, 2016). Betzold brings experience in both European and American farming techniques to the position. In his most recent position, he led a technical team at an international corporate dairy farm in the Penza Region of Russia, where he provided knowledge and direction in production and future expansion. Betzold grew up on a dairy farm in northwest Wisconsin and earned a MBA in agriculture from the University of Guelph in Ontario, Canada. At the DFRC, he will help manage the herd and coordinate research projects for USDA and UW-Madison dairy scientists.

Scott Evans, Assistant Superintendent, Arlington Agricultural Research Station (as of April 2017). Evans assists station superintendent Mike Bertram in the supervision of the largest CALS research station in Wisconsin, which houses 12 crop and livestock units on 2,000 acres. Evans earned his B.S. in water resources with a minor in soil science from UW-Stevens Point. Previously, he worked as a nutrient management/precision farming specialist at Insight FS Cooperative in Mazomanie, Wis., where he worked extensively with farmers to develop detailed nutrient management plans, coordinate soil sampling and analyze yield data.

Bruce Schweiger, Superintendent, O.J. Noer Turfgrass Center (as of Jan. 2017). Schweiger has a strong connection to the O.J. Noer Turfgrass Center. He helped raise funds for the facility before it was even built. Since 2013, Schweiger has served as the manager of the Turfgrass Diagnostic Lab housed at O.J. Noer. His three decades of experience in turfgrass management, research coordination, and the agronomy industry will come in handy in his new role overseeing all operations at the facility. Schweiger earned a B.S. in soil science and horticulture from UW-Madison and was a charter member of the Wisconsin Turfgrass Association.