Aerial view of central campus in autumn 2013. Photo by Jeff Miller/UW-Madison.

The CALS Awards ceremony and reception is this Wednesday, May 3, at 3 p.m. in the Ebling Auditorium in the Microbial Sciences Building. The event will celebrate the college’s 2017 honorees, including CALS faculty and staff award winners and faculty awarded professorships during the past year. Following the ceremony, a reception will be held in the Microbial Sciences Building’s first floor atrium.

This year’s honorees are:

Academic Staff Award for Excellence in Leadership

Laura Ward Good • Soil Science

Academic Staff Award for Excellence in Research

Rani Govindasamy-Lucey • Center for Dairy Research

Academic Staff Award for Excellence in Service

Alex Crockford • Plant Pathology

Arthur J. Maurer Extra Mile Award

Michel A. Wattiaux • Dairy Science

Equity and Diversity Award

Molly Reinhard • Academic Affairs

Excellence in International Activities Award

Guilherme J. M. Rosa • Animal Sciences

J. S. Donald Short Course Teaching Award

Francisco J. Arriaga • Soil Science

Pound Extension Award

Amanda Gevens • Plant Pathology

Pound Research Award

Zach Peery • Forest & Wildlife Ecology

Robert G. F. and Hazel T. Spitze Land Grant Faculty Award for Excellence

Susan M. Paskewitz • Entomology

Spitzer Excellence in Teaching Award

Troy M. Runge • Biological Systems Engineering

University Staff Awards

Lynn Martinsen • Human Resources
Catherine Rook • Dairy Science
Laura Trumble • Animal Sciences

WALSAA Outstanding Advisor Award

Molly Reinhard • Academic Affairs


College and department professorships named during the past year:

Clif Bar and Organic Valley Chair in Plant Breeding for Organic Agriculture

William F. Tracy • Agronomy

Douglas D. Sorenson Professor and Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor

Caitilyn Allen • Plant Pathology

Rick Eisenstein • Nutritional Sciences

Alfred E. Hartemink • Soil Science

Richard L. Lindroth • Entomology

Patricia S. McManus • Plant Pathology

O.N. Allen Professor of Soil Microbiology

Thea Whitman • Soil Science