The recipients of the 2017-18 CALS Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship Awards announced

The College of Agricultural and Life Sciences (CALS) has selected the 2017-18 graduate fellowship recipients. The College would like to thank the donors for making these awards possible and the selection committees that reviewed the nominations.

The estate of Elsa Thomsen established the Louis and Elsa Thomsen Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowships to support graduate students who demonstrate excellence in research. Three fellowships will be awarded for 2017-18. The recipients include:

  • EmilyClare Baker, Microbiology Doctoral Training Program, PI – Chris Todd Hittinger, Department of Genetics
  • Ning Li, Biological Systems Engineering Degree Program, PI – Xuejun Pan, Department of Biological Engineering
  • Elizabeth Miller, Molecular & Environmental Toxicology Degree Program, PI – Joel Pedersen, Department of Soil Science

The Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association established the Wisconsin Potato Industry Board Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship to support a graduate student who demonstrates excellence in research in the areas of ground water resources or potato research. The recipient of the 2017-18 award is:

  • Shunping Ding, Department of Plant Pathology, PI – Amanda Gevens, Department of Plant Pathology

The Richard M. Heins Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship was established by Richard M. Heins to support excellence in graduate student research. Heins, an alumnus of UW-Madison, was very active in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences serving on the CALS Board of Visitors from 1996-1999. The recipient of the 2017-18 award is:

  • ¬†Anthony Nuemann – Microbiology Doctoral Training Program, PI – Garret Suen, Department of Bacteriology

Congratulations to all of the recipients of the 2017-18 CALS fellowship awards.