David Hogg named Honorary Member of the Entomological Society of America

17090624812_6823cb8b33_zEntomology professor David Hogg has been named an Honorary Member of the Entomological Society of America. He was selected based on his long-time affiliation with the society and his extraordinary service and outstanding contributions to it. This award attests to his devotion to the society and entomology discipline as a whole.

The Entomological Society of America provided this brief overview of Hogg’s career and accomplishments in the society’s news release about the award:

Dr. David B. Hogg is a 40-year ESA member. Hogg received B.S. (1970) and M.S. (1974) degrees in Entomology from Purdue University, and a Ph.D. (1977) in Entomology and Insect Ecology from the University of California, Berkeley. He then spent several years on the faculty at Mississippi State University, and in 1979 he accepted a faculty position at the University of Wisconsin, where he has been for 37 years. During his tenure at Wisconsin, Hogg has served two terms as department chair (1998-2002 & 2011-2015), and he has served as executive associate dean (2002-2005) and as interim dean (2005-2006) of the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences. He became active in ESA (including North Central Branch) affairs in the early 1980’s, which led to various leadership roles: ESA Annual Meeting Program Committee (1990 & 1991), ESA Section C Chair (1991), ESA presidential committee on transitioning to electronic publications (1997-1998), NCB Executive Council (1998-2000 & 2004-2006), NCB President (2000), co-chair of Local Arrangements for the Madison NCB meeting (2003), twice on committees to search for ESA executive directors (2007 & 2010), ESA Governing Board (2008-2011), and ESA President (2010). Hogg received the 2004 J.V. Osmun Alumni Award in Entomology (Purdue University), the 2015 NCB-ESA C.V. Riley Achievement Award, the 2015 Spitzer Excellence in Teaching Award from the UW College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, and he has been named a UW-Madison “Honored Instructor” (student nominated) four of the past five years. Hogg has been a Board Certified Entomologist since 2012.

Honorary Membership acknowledges those who have served ESA for at least 20 years through significant involvement in the affairs of the Society that has reached an extraordinary level. Candidates for this honor are selected by the ESA Governing Board and then voted on by the ESA membership. For more information about the award, see