Alan Attie and Andrew Bent named AAAS Fellows

Two CALS faculty members are among four from the UW-Madison that have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the society announced today.

UW-Madison’s honorees are:

-Alan D. Attie, professor of biochemistry, “for distinguished contributions to genetics and endocrinology, particularly through characterization of the genetics of diabetes in mouse model systems.”

-Andrew F. Bent, professor of plant pathology, “for distinguished contributions in dissecting molecular interactions between plant pathogens and their host, and for selfless leadership in his professional societies.”

-Manos Mavrikakis, professor of chemical and biological engineering, “for outstanding contributions to our fundamental understanding of the site-specific chemical reactions leading to new catalytic materials.”

-Deane Mosher, professor of biomolecular chemistry, “for illuminating the roles of fibronectin, vitronectin, and thrombospondins in cell adhesion and migration, the assembly of the extracellular matrix, and human disease.”

Since 1874, members of AAAS, the world’s largest general scientific society, have elected fellows based on their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science. The fellows will be formally inducted Feb. 14, 2015 at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the AAAS Annual Meeting in San Jose, California.