Congrats to these 2013 CALS faculty/staff award recipients

Congratulations to the following recipients of the 2013 CALS staff and faculty awards. The awards ceremony will take place on Wednesday April 24th at 3 p.m. in the Ebling Symposium Center with a reception to follow.

Classified Staff Awards

  • Paul Abel, Marshfield Agricultural Research Station
  • Dennis Anderson, Arlington Agricultural Research Station
  • Randal Jones, Arlington Blaine Dairy
  • Craig Malnory, Agricultural Research Stations
  • Dianne Raschka, Animal Sciences
  • Katherine Wilmot, Nutritional Sciences

Academic Staff Awards

  • Excellence in Research – Wenli Zhang, Horticulture
  • Excellence in Leadership – Jamie Reichert, Animal Sciences
  • Excellence in Service – Laura Vanderploeg, Biochemistry

Jung Excellence in Teaching Award

  • Mark Cook, Animal Sciences

Spitzer Excellence in Teaching Award

  • Mark Berres, Animal Sciences

J.S. Donald Short Course Teaching Award

  • Jerry Guenther, Dairy Science
  • Thomas Crenshaw, Animal Sciences

WALSAA Outstanding Advisor Award

  • Mary Smith, Institute for Biology Education

Excellence in International Activities Award

  • Sherry Tanumihardjo, Nutritional Sciences

Pound Extension Award

  • Russell Groves, Entomology

Pound Research Award

  • Guilherme Rosa, Animal Sciences

Arthur J. Maurer Extra Mile Award

  • Jack Kloppenburg, Community and Environmental Sociology

Robert G.F. and Hazel T. Spitze Land Grant Faculty Award for Excellence

  • David Thomas, Animal Sciences

If you plan to attend, please RSVP to Jessica Sorrell ( by April 17.