LSC’s Dietram Scheufele elected to University Committee

LSC’s Dietram A. Scheufele, John E. Ross Chaired Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, has been elected to the University of Wisconsin-Madison University Committee for a one-year term to start in June. The University Committee is the six-member Executive Committee of the UW-Madison Faculty Senate.

Currently chaired by Animal Sciences Professor Mark Cook, the committee is tasked with: studying and making recommendations to the faculty and administration regarding educational policy, considering changes to the organization of interdisciplinary instructional, research and service programs and the creation of new colleges and other educational arms of the university, consults with administration on the university budget and examines actions taken relating to the university by the Board of Regents, the Board of Visitors, the various faculties or faculty committees, or by other bodies or
individuals related to the university.

“This is a particularly exciting year to be on the University Committee,” said Scheufele, “given the chancellor’s search that will be underway and the many other challenges facing Wisconsin’s flagship university.”