Time to nominate for Academic Staff Excellence Awards

I am pleased to announce the 20th year of the UW-Madison Academic Staff Excellence Awards. This year we will honor nine extraordinary people for achievement in seven categories. In addition, UW-System will honor academic staff in four categories. Recipients of the UW-Madison Academic Staff Excellence Awards will be named in March and honored at both the April Academic Staff Assembly meeting and at a reception I host in late spring.

We are most grateful to the Wisconsin Alumni Association, and to emeritus academic staff members Martha Casey, Ann Wallace and Carroll (and the late Robert) Heideman for their continued sponsorship of these awards. I would also like to thank the Academic Staff Assembly’s Professional Development and Recognition Committee for coordinating the awards process.

I strongly urge you to participate in these fine programs by forwarding nominations for those academic staff who exemplify the sustained excellence, outstanding achievement, and creative initiative that characterizes this world-renowned university.
Nomination guidelines and cover pages for all awards can be found at: Nomination packets for all awards (including UW‑System and Regents awards) should be sent to the Office of the Secretary of the Academic Staff via email at: by January 20, 2011.

The January 20th deadline is firm. Follow the submission instructions for each separate award carefully. If you have questions regarding the awards, please contact Donna Silver at 263-2985, or email at

Deadline: January 20, 2011

  • Chancellor’s Hilldale Award for Excellence in Teaching
  • Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in Research (two awards)
  • Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Service to the University
  • Wisconsin Alumni Association Awards for Excellence in Leadership (two awards)
  • Robert and Carroll Heideman Award for Excellence in Public Service and Outreach
  • Martha Casey Award for Dedicated Service to the University
  • Ann Wallace Career Achievement Award

Deadline: January 20, 2011

  • Academic Staff Regents Award for Program Excellence
  • Academic Staff Regents Award for Individual Excellence
  • Regents Teaching Excellence Award for a Program or Department
  • Alliant Energy Underkofler Excellence in Teaching Award

Carolyn “Biddy” Martin, Chancellor