Dean Jahn review underway

The university adopted a standard five-year review procedure for deans several years ago.  The purpose is to assess each dean’s academic and administrative leadership and performance in such areas as external relations and resource management.  The chancellor and provost appoint the members of the review committee.

A review is underway for the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences (CALS) Dean Molly Jahn. Review committee members are: W. Charles Read (Chair), Emeritus Dean; William Barker, Associate Dean, L&S; Murray Clayton, Professor and Chair, Plant Pathology; Norman Drinkwater, Professor of Oncology; Brian Fox, Professor, Biochemistry; Adam Gamoran, Associate Dean and Director, Wisconsin Center for Educational Research, School of Education; Robin Kurtz, Faculty Associate, Bacteriology; Tom Lyon, Alumnus, CALS; Denise Ney, Professor, Nutritional Science; and John Stier, Professor and Chair, Horticulture.

The review process includes interviews with the dean’s constituents including deans, faculty, staff, students and external stakeholders.  The committee also invites written comments from the university community regarding the dean’s leadership and administration. Written comments regarding Dean Jahn’s review may be addressed to the committee chair, Charles Read at with copies to Mo Noonan Bischof, Assistant Vice Provost at  The deadline for submitting comments is September 15, 2010.

The review committee treats all communication as confidential, and the university will protect such confidentiality within the framework of Wisconsin law.