Congratulations to recipients of 2009 CALS faculty and staff awards

Congratulations to winners of the 2009 CALS faculty and staff awards. Please join us in recognizing these outstanding colleagues at the annual CALS awards program on Tuesday, April 21, 2009 at 3 p.m. in the Ebling Symposium Center, Microbial Sciences Building. A reception will follow the awards program. If you plan to attend, RSVP to to Madelyn Alt ( by April 14. Please congratulate the following individuals:

Classified Staff Recognition

  • Glenn Carlson, Hancock Agricultural Research Station
  • Barbara Cochrane, Food Research Institute
  • Linda Cunningham, Dairy Science
  • Staci Francis, Bacteriology
  • Nick Ganser, West Madison Agricultural Research Station
  • Steve Switzer, Animal Science

Academic Staff Awards

  • Excellence in Service
    Ted Halbach, Dairy Science
  • Excellence in Leadership
    Kathleen Zweifel, Genetics
  • Excellence in Research
    Fariba Assadi-Porter, Biochemistry

Faculty Awards

  • Jung Excellence in Teaching Award
    Jon Roll, Bacteriology
  • Spitzer Excellence in Teaching Award
    David Thomas, Animal Science
  • J.S. Donald Short Course Teaching Award
    Kent Weigel, Dairy Science
  • WALSAA Outstanding Advisor Award
    David Nelson, Biochemistry
  • Excellence in International Activities Award
    James Ntambi, Biochemistry
  • Pound Extension Award
    A.J. Bussan, Horticulture
  • Pound Research Award
    Dietram Scheufele, Life Sciences Communication
  • Arthur J. Maurer Extra Mile Award
    Catherine, “Terry” Jobsis, Animal Sciences
  • Robert G.F. and Hazel T. Spitze Land Grant Award for Excellence
    Daniel Schaefer, Animal Sciences