CALS Awards recipients announced, will be celebrated May 7

The CALS community is invited to attend the 2024 CALS Awards ceremony, celebrating the 2024 CALS Award winners, 2023 recipients of college fellowships, and department chairs who completed service in the last year. The ceremony and reception will take place Tuesday, May 7, 2024 at 3:00 p.m. in the Lake Mendota Room in the Dejope Residence Hall

Please RSVP by Tuesday, April 23.

2024 CALS Award recipients:

Academic Staff Excellence Awards
Annie Anderson • Genetics
Chris Davis • Nutritional Sciences
David Egan-Robertson • Applied Population Lab

CALS Equity and Diversity Award
Beth Ann A. Workmaster • Plant and Agroecosystems Sciences

Louise Hemstead Leadership Award
Monica M. White • Community and Environmental Sociology 

Excellence in International Activities Award
Valerie J. Stull • Community and Environmental Sociology

Arthur J. and Ellen A. Maurer Extra Mile Award
Laura Hernandez • Animal and Dairy Sciences

Donald R. Peterson Farm Technology Transfer Award
Damon Smith • Plant Pathology

Pound Extension Award
Paul Koch • Plant Pathology

Pound Research Award
Karthik Anantharaman • Bacteriology

Robert G.F. and Hazel T. Spitze Land Grant Faculty Award for Excellence
J. Michael Collins • School of Human Ecology

Robert R. Spitzer Teaching Excellence Award
Aurélie Mamisoa Rakotondrafara  • Plant Pathology

University Staff Recognition Awards
Jillene Fisch • Plant and Agroecosystems Sciences
Sarah Pleet • Marshfield Agricultural Research Station 
Thomas Steinbach • Arlington Agricultural Research Station

WALSAA Outstanding Advisor Award
Heather Mialik • Academic Affairs

2023 CALS fellowship recipients:

Myron H. & Anna Atwood Faculty Fellow Award
Briana Burton • Bacteriology

Alfred Toepfer Faculty Fellow Award
Jake Brunkard • Genetics
Leslie Holland • Plant Pathology

Department chairs completing service in 2023:

Michael Bell • Community and Environmental Sociology 
Alfred Hartemink • Soil Science
Chris Kucharik • Agronomy