Fall investiture ceremony to honor six CALS faculty

The CALS community is invited to attend an Investiture Ceremony that will honor six CALS department and college level professorships named in 2023. The ceremony will take place Tuesday, September 26, 2023 at 4:30 p.m. in Memorial Union’s Great Hall. A reception will be held following the ceremony.

An investiture is a significant, formal ceremony that honors faculty who have been appointed to named professorships and recognizes the generous donors who made the appointments possible. 

The ceremony will honor:

  • Samer N. Alatout, Buttel-Sewell Professorship, Department of Community and Environmental Sociology
  • Julie C. Dawson, Clif Bar and Organic Valley Chair in Plant Breeding for Organic Agriculture, Department of Plant and Agroecosystem Sciences
  • Amanda Jane Gevens, Fritz Friday Chair in Vegetable Production Research, Department of Plant Pathology
  • Richard Hartel, William C. Winder Professorship in Food Science, Department of Food Science 
  • Matthew Ruark, Wisconsin Potato and Vegetable Grower BCS Chair, Department of Soil Science
  • Anita M. Thompson, Patrick Walsh and Noreen Warren Endowed Professorship, Department of Biological Systems Engineering

Additional information about these professorship holders will be shared in the coming weeks.

To register to attend the event please fill out this form. Registration closes September 8. Contact Nikki Wykowski with any questions.