2023-24 CALS Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship Awards recipients announced

The College of Agricultural and Life Sciences (CALS) has selected the 2023-2024 distinguished graduate fellowship recipients. The College would like to thank the donors for making these awards possible and the selection committees that reviewed the nominations.

The Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association established the Wisconsin Potato Industry Board Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship to support a graduate student who demonstrates excellence in research in the areas of ground water resources research or potato research. The recipient of the 2023-24 award is:

  • Emma Schmidt, Horticulture; Professor and Major Advisor – Jed Colquhoun, Department of Horticulture.

The estate of Elsa Thomsen established the Louis and Elsa Thomsen Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowships to support graduate students who demonstrate excellence in research. Three fellowships will be awarded for 2023-24. The recipients include:

  • Morgan Farmer, Wildlife Ecology; Professor and Major Advisor – David Drake, Department of Forest and Wildlife Ecology
  • Ashley Becker, Environment and Resources; Professor and Major Advisor – Randy Jackson, Department of Agronomy 
  • Saeed Roschdi, Integrated Program in Biochemistry; Professor and Major Advisor – Sam Butcher, Department of Biochemistry

Jack & Marion Goetz established the Jack & Marion Goetz Graduate Fellowship in Agricultural & Life Sciences to support excellence in graduate student research with emphasis on genetics and general environmental research at the agricultural research stations. The recipient of the 2023-24 award is:

  • Jose Junior Nunes, Agronomy; Assistant Professor and Major Advisor – Rodrigo Werle, Department of Agronomy

Congratulations to all of the recipients of these prestigious CALS awards.