CALS Awards recipients announced, will be celebrated May 2

The CALS community is invited to attend the 2023 CALS Awards ceremony, celebrating the 2023 CALS Award winners and 2023 recipients of college fellowships. The ceremony will take place Tuesday, May 2, 2022 at 3:00 p.m. in Ebling Auditorium in the Microbial Sciences Building. Following the ceremony, a light reception will be held in the Microbial Sciences Building’s first floor atrium. Click here to RSVP.

This year’s honorees are:

Academic Staff Excellence Awards
Todd Courtenay • Global Health Undergraduate Program
Jennifer Heinritz • Bacteriology
Sarah L. Kemp • Applied Population Lab

Arthur J. and Ellen A. Maurer Extra Mile Award
Liza Chang • Academic Affairs

CALS Equity and Diversity Award
What’s Eating My Plants? • Plant Pathology Student Organization

Excellence in International Activities Award
Victor E. Cabrera • Animal and Dairy Sciences

Pound Extension Award
Amaya Atucha • Horticulture

Pound Research Award
J.P. van Pijkeren • Food Science

Robert G.F. and Hazel T. Spitze Land Grant Faculty Award for Excellence
William F. Tracy • Agronomy

Robert R. Spitzer Teaching Excellence Award
Andrew Stevens • Agricultural and Applied Economics

University Staff Recognition Awards
Lindsey Jensen • Animal and Dairy Sciences
Terri Wipperfurth • Agricultural and Applied Economics
Tony Ziehmke • Agricultural Research Stations – Arlington

WALSAA Outstanding Advisor Award
Theodore J. Halbach • Animal and Dairy Sciences


Elton D. and Carrie R. Aberle Faculty Fellow Award
Adam J. Kuchnia • Nutritional Sciences

Myron H. & Anna Atwood Faculty Fellow Award
Andrew Stevens • Agricultural and Applied Economics

Alfred Toepfer Faculty Fellow Award
João R. R. Dórea • Animal and Dairy Sciences
Zhou Zhang • Biological Systems Engineering

Leo M. Walsh Faculty Fellow Award
Inna Popova • Soil Science