WALSAA recognizes ten outstanding sophomores

Congratulations to WALSAA’s 10 Outstanding Sophomores for 2022! Front row (left to right): Kelsey Schneider, Rosalie Powell, Sydney Taylor, Molly Olstad, CALS Dean Kate VandenBosch, WALSAA President Taylor Fritsch. Back row (left to right): Aryan Saini, Kirsten Gahan, Gabrielle Conidi, Lauren Sroda, Megan Moede, Nicole Broege.

The Wisconsin Agricultural and Life Sciences Alumni Association (WALSAA) recently continued its proud tradition of promoting student excellence at UW–Madison. After receiving a number of applications, the WALSAA scholarship committee narrowed down its search for the Top 10 Outstanding Sophomores through a rigorous prescreening process that focused equally on academic achievement, campus involvement/leadership, community service and relevant experience. From there, twenty one students were selected to interview in front of a panel of three WALSAA members. Ten final awardees were selected based on interview performance.

WALSAA’s Outstanding Sophomore Recipients for 2022 include:

  • Nicole Broege; Janesville, Wisconsin; Dairy science
  • Gabrielle Conidi; Hinsdale, Illinois; Animal science
  • Kirsten Gahan; Pewaukee, Wisconsin; Microbiology
  • Megan Moede; Algoma, Wisconsin; Agricultural business management
  • Molly Olstad; Stoughton, Wisconsin; Life sciences communication
  • Rosalie Powell; Madison, Wisconsin; Environmental sciences
  • Aryan Saini; Madison, Wisconsin; Biology
  • Kelsey Schneider; River Falls, Wisconsin; Genetics and genomics
  • Lauren Sroda; DePere, Wisconsin; Biological systems engineering
  • Sydney Taylor; Cottage Grove, Wisconsin; Global health

WALSAA is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization that supports the connection of students, faculty and alumni to the University of Wisconsin’s College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, known as CALS. Established in 1972, WALSAA has embarked on a remarkable journey of service and fellowship with alumni and friends of CALS.  For more information on WALSAA visit