Help celebrate 2021 CALS Awards honorees on May 5

The CALS community is invited to the virtual 2021 CALS Awards to help celebrate the college’s staff and faculty honorees, including 2021 CALS faculty and staff CALS Awards winners and 2020 recipients of college and department professorships and other college awards. The virtual ceremony will take place on Wednesday, May 5, 2021 at 3 p.m. Please register at

Academic Staff Excellence Awards

Christian G. Krueger • Animal and Dairy Sciences
Michael Petersen • Wisconsin Crop Innovation Center
Plia Xiong • CALS Academic Affairs

Arthur J. and Ellen A. Maurer Extra Mile Award

Theodore J. Halbach • Animal and Dairy Sciences

CALS Equity and Diversity Award

Claudia Irene Calderón • Horticulture

Excellence in International Activities Award

Alfred E. Hartemink • Soil Science

Louise Hemstead Leadership Award

Julie Dawson • Horticulture

Pound Extension Award

Erin Silva • Plant Pathology

Pound Research Award

Laura Hernandez • Animal and Dairy Sciences

Robert G. F. and Hazel T. Spitze Land Grant Faculty Award for Excellence

Judith S. Bartfeld • School of Human Ecology

Robert R. Spitzer Teaching Excellence Award

Katie Vermillion Kalmon • Genetics

University Staff Recognition Awards

Jason Ball • Wisconsin Crop Innovation Center
Debra Schneider • CALS Human Resources & Animal and Dairy Sciences

WALSAA Outstanding Advisor Award

Katie Butzen • Nutritional Sciences


Additional college awards given during the past year:

Elton D. and Carrie R. Aberle Faculty Fellow Award

Paul Castañeda Dower • Agricultural and Applied Economics

Alfred Toepfer Faculty Fellow Award

Yi Wang • Horticulture
Rodrigo Werle • Agronomy


College and department professorships named during the past year:

Ira L. Baldwin Professorship in Bacteriology

Timothy Donohue • Bacteriology

Beers-Bascom Professorship in Conservation

Anna Michle Pidgeon • Forest and Wildlife Ecology

Buttel-Sewell Professorship

Nan Enstad • Community and Environmental Sociology

E. B. Fred Professorship in Bacteriology

Katrina T. Forest • Bacteriology

Gottschalk Family Chair for Cranberry Research

Amaya Atucha • Horticulture

Patrick Walsh and Noreen Warren Professorship

Troy M. Runge • Biological Systems Engineering