CALS Academic Planning Council nominations due June 1, 2020

CALS Academic Affairs is facilitating the CALS Academic Planning Council (APC) nominations and elections of faculty and academic staff members for the next academic year. Elected APC members serve a three year term. In 2020-2021, CALS APC meetings will occur on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of the month from 1:00 – 2:30 p.m.

Nominate faculty in the following departments to represent their APC “division” beginning in the fall of 2020:
Division 1: Animal and Dairy Science
Division 3: Life Sciences Communication
Division 4: Horticulture
Division 5: Bacteriology

Faculty nominations can be made by any faculty member within a represented division (see below). Nominees must be voting faculty members within the same represented faculty division.

Any member of the academic staff may nominate an academic staff representative in CALS who holds a minimum 50% appointment.

Please confirm the willingness of nominees to serve in the position and their ability to attend APC meetings before making the nomination. Completed APC nomination forms should be signed and returned by June 1, 2020 to Sarah Barber at

The Academic Planning Council plays a crucial role in the College and advises the Dean of the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences on:

• Developing strategic and long-range plans
• College program reviews and future development or contraction of academic programs
• Factors relevant to the capacity of the College to fulfill its mission
• Budgetary planning and resource allocation
• Policies related to responsibilities of the departments, centers, institutes and the College for instruction, research, and public service
• Diversity initiatives to ensure excellence in education, research and outreach

Below is a breakdown of the division structure, the current members continuing in each division and the number of new members to be elected:

Division 1: Animal & Diary Sciences, Biological Systems Engineering, Food Science
Continuing member: Xuejun Pan (Biological Systems Engineering)
New members needed: One from Animal & Dairy Sciences

Division 2: Entomology, Forest and Wildlife Ecology, Soil Science
Continuing members: Rick Lindroth (Entomology) and Scott Lutz (Forest and Wildlife Ecology)
New members needed: none

Division 3: Agricultural and Applied Economics, Community and Environmental Sociology, Life Sciences Communication
Continuing member: Guanming Shi (Agricultural and Applied Economics)
New members needed:  One from Life Sciences Communication

Division 4: Agronomy, Plant Pathology, Horticulture
Continuing member: Bill Tracy (Agronomy)
New members needed: One from Horticulture

Division 5 : Bacteriology, Biochemistry, Genetics, Nutritional Science
Continuing members: Nicole Perna (Genetics) and Jill Wildonger (Biochemistry)
New members needed: One from Bacteriology

Continuing member: Barb Ingham
Academic Staff
Continuing members: Erika Anna
New members needed: One