Dean VandenBosch announces 2020 CALS Awards winners and professorship recipients

Last week at the All College virtual meeting, Dean Kate VandenBosch announced the recipients of the 2020 CALS Awards as well as recently named professorships. Though the in-person event planned for May 6 was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Dean VandenBosch hopes to be able to celebrate in other ways once we are able to return to campus.

In the meantime, bios of the CALS Awards recipients will be featured on social media and in eCALS in the coming weeks. Congratulations to the awardees!

Academic Staff Excellence Award
Kathleen A. Glass — Food Research Institute
Janet Newlands — Bacteriology
Gregg Sanford — Agronomy

Arthur J. and Ellen A. Maurer Extra Mile Award
Dominique Brossard — Life Sciences Communication

CALS Equity and Diversity Award
Rebecca Larson — Biological Systems Engineering

Excellence in International Activities Award
Jon T. Roll — Bacteriology

J. S. Donald Short Course Teaching Award
PJ Liesch — Entomology

Louise Hemstead Leadership Award
Erin Silva — Plant Pathology

Pound Extension Award
Christelle Guédot — Entomology

Pound Research Award
Benjamin Zuckerberg — Forest and Wildlife Ecology

Robert G. F. and Hazel T. Spitze Land Grant Faculty Award for Excellence
Kent A. Weigel — Dairy Science

Spitzer Excellence in Teaching Award
Michel A. Wattiaux — Dairy Science

University Staff Recognition Award
Gary W. Grossen — Center for Dairy Research
Dawn Wagner — CALS Human Resources
Jo White — Agricultural and Applied Economics

WALSAA Outstanding Advisor Award
Daniel K. Young — Entomology


Additional college awards given during the past year:

Alfred Toepfer Faculty Fellow Award
Valentin Picasso — Agronomy

Donald R. Peterson Farm Technology Transfer Award
Matt Akins — Dairy Science


College and department professorships named during the past year:

Campbell-Bascom Professorship
Randy Jackson — Agronomy

Elmer Martin Billings and Jean Hood Billings Professorship in Nutrition
Guy E. Groblewski — Nutritional Sciences

Friday Chair for Vegetable Processing Research
Bradley Bolling — Food Science

James F. Crow Distinguished Professorship
Bret A. Payseur — Genetics

Marvin T. Beatty Professorship in Soil Science
Alfred E. Hartemink — Soil Science

Olav F. and Elsie de Noyer Anderson-Bascom Professorship in Agricultural Economics
Jean-Paul Chavas — Agricultural and Applied Economics

Oscar N. and Ethel K. Allen Memorial Chair in Phytobacteriology
Caitlyn Allen — Plant Pathology

Renk Chair in Agribusiness
Xiaodong Du — Agricultural and Applied Economics

Vaughan-Bascom Professorship in Plant Pathology
Douglas I. Rouse — Plant Pathology

William A. Rothermel-Bascom Professorship in Agronomy
Shawn P. Conley — Agronomy