Ten outstanding sophomores recognized by WALSAA

Congratulations to WALSAA’s 10 Oustanding Sophomores for 2019!
Back L-R: CALS Dean Kate VandenBosch, Emily Schwanke, Emily Franke, Elise Warda, Mena Schmitt, Summer Henschel, Yiding Wang, Dawson Nickels, Ethan Rocha, WALSAA President Shawn Conley, (not pictured) Dima Kenj Halabi, Jessica Mehre

The Wisconsin Agricultural and Life Sciences Alumni Association (WALSAA) continued its proud tradition of promoting student excellence at the University of Wisconsin–Madison with the presentation of the 2019 WALSAA Outstanding Sophomore Scholarships. On Friday, April 12, WALSAA presented 10 sophomore students with a $2,000 scholarship at a formal awards presentation. Nearly 40 applicants completed a rigorous prescreening process focused equally on academic achievement, campus involvement/leadership, community service and relevant experience. Twenty students were then selected to interview in front of a panel of three WALSAA members. Ten students were selected as the 2019 WALSAA Outstanding Sophomores.

The 2019 WALSAA Outstanding Sophomore recipients are:

  • Emily Franke, Oakfield, Wisconsin, dairy science
  • Summer Henschel, Chilton, Wisconsin, dairy science
  • Dima Kenj Halabi, Madison, Wisconsin, nutritional sciences
  • Jessica Mehre, Glenbeulah, Wisconsin, dairy science and agronomy
  • Dawson Nickels, Watertown, Wisconsin, dairy science
  • Ethan Rocha, Franklin, Wisconsin, chemical engineering
  • Mena Schmitt, Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, dairy science
  • Emily Schwanke, Waupun, Wisconsin, animal science
  • Yiding Wang, China, genetics
  • Elise Warda, Middleton, Wisconsin, microbiology

WALSAA is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization that supports the connection of students, faculty and alumni to the University of Wisconsin’s College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, known as CALS. Established in 1972, WALSAA has embarked on a remarkable journey of service and fellowship with alumni and friends of CALS. For more information on WALSAA visit