Call for nominations: 2018-2018 Academic Staff Excellence Awards

The following message was sent to UW-Madison deans, directors, department chairs and members of the faculty and academic staff from Chancellor Rebecca Blank on November 8.

I am pleased to announce the 28th year of the UW-Madison Academic Staff Excellence Awards (deadline January 11, 2019). This year we will honor nine extraordinary people for achievement in seven categories. Recipients of the UW-Madison Academic Staff Excellence Awards will be named and honored at an awards ceremony in April, as well as at the April meeting of the Academic Staff Assembly.

We are most grateful to emeritus academic staff members Martha Casey, Ann Wallace and Carroll (and the late Robert) Heideman for their continued sponsorship of these awards. I would also like to thank the Academic Staff Assembly’s Professional Development and Recognition Committee for coordinating the awards process.

I strongly urge you to participate in these fine programs by forwarding nominations for those academic staff who exemplify the sustained excellence, outstanding achievement, and creative initiative that characterizes this world-renowned university.

Award information and nomination guidelines for all awards can be found at: Resubmissions are accepted and encouraged to include updated materials. Nomination materials for all awards should be submitted electronically using the submission system at

Please note that the call for nominations for the UW System Awards (Regents’ Academic Staff Excellence Awards [Individual or Program] and Alliant Energy/Underkofler Excellence in Teaching Award) will be announced at a later date.

The deadline listed below is firm. Follow the submission instructions for each separate award carefully. If you have questions regarding the awards, please contact Jake Smith at 263-2985, or email


Deadline: Friday, January 11, 2019

  • Chancellor’s Hilldale Award for Excellence in Teaching
  • Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in Research (two awards)
  • Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Service to the University
  • Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in Leadership (two awards)
  • Robert and Carroll Heideman Award for Excellence in Public Service and Outreach
  • Martha Casey Award for Dedicated Service to the University
  • Ann Wallace Career Achievement Award