Time to nominate: Kemper K. Knapp grants, Faculty teaching awards, Hilldale awards, Gorst Herfurth award

The UW–Madison Secretary of the Faculty invites nominations for the following awards and funding opportunities. Go to for more information, instructions, and specific contact information.

Kemper K. Knapp Bequest Funding
Applications Due: 9 November 2018
Kemper K. Knapp grants are usually in the range of $500 to $5,000. According to the terms of the original bequest, the committee favors projects that cross departmental lines and have an impact on the educational and cultural life of the university community, particularly projects that benefit undergraduate students. Knapp funds are not often used for purposes that can and should be supported elsewhere, such as from regular grants or research funding, from fees charged for performances, or from the regular university budget. Nor is the committee inclined to support exhibitions or lectures because other campus committees (e.g., Anonymous Fund Committee, Lectures Committee) have them as a central funding target. The committee encourages registered student organizations to apply, but departmental/program co-sponsorship is required. A list of previously funded requests and the call for proposals are available at

Faculty Distinguished Teaching Awards
Nominations Due: 3 December 2018
The Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award, Chancellor’s Inclusive Excellence Award, Class of 1955 Excellence Award, William H. Kiekhofer Teaching Award, Emil Steiger Teaching Award, Van Hise Outreach Teaching Award, and Excellence in Community-Based Teaching Award (new in 2018) all recognize outstanding and exceptional teaching by faculty of any specialty or rank. Nominations are accepted from faculty members, departments, or student organizations, and should be coordinated with the chair of the nominee’s department. A list of past recipients and nominating procedures are available at

Hilldale Awards and Hilldale Lecture Series
Nominations Due: 15 December 2018
The Hilldale Awards recognize distinguished contributions to teaching, research, and service and are awarded annually to one faculty member in each division. The Hilldale Lecture Series showcases distinguished thinkers whose contributions to contemporary culture and science have received international recognition and acclaim. One lecture is funded annually in each division. Nominations of individuals from group that are traditionally underrepresented in their fields are particularly welcome. Speaking arrangements may be made after receiving the grant, but the lecture will have to be held in 2019-2020. Lists of past recipients and nominating procedures are available at (click on “Hilldale Awards” or “Hilldale Lectures”).

Genevieve Gorst Herfurth Award for Outstanding Research in Social Sciences
Nominations due: 15 December 2018 (one month earlier than in past years)
One award is made annually to a currently enrolled doctoral student in the social sciences who has demonstrated outstanding research and scholarly writing accomplishments while a graduate student at UW–Madison. Nominations are accepted from social sciences faculty and multiple nominations are accepted. Nominating procedures are available at