UW–Madison Smart Restart: For information about fall semester instruction and campus operations, please visit For COVID-19 news updates, see

CALS department chairs for 2018-19

Here’s a list of CALS department chairs for the 2018-2019 year. Departments with new chairs this year are in bold.

Agricultural and Applied Economics: Jeremy D. Foltz
Agronomy: Christopher J. Kucharik
Animal Sciences: Thomas D. Crenshaw
Bacteriology: Charles W. Kaspar
Biochemistry: Brian G. Fox
Biological Systems Engineering: Troy M. Runge
Community and Environmental Sociology: Gary P. Green
Dairy Science: Kent A. Weigel
Entomology: Susan M. Paskewitz
Food Science: Scott A. Rankin
Forest and Wildlife Ecology: Mark G. Rickenbach
Genetics: John Doebley
Horticulture: Irwin L. Goldman
Life Sciences Communication: Dominique Brossard
Nutritional Sciences: David J. Eide
Plant Pathology: Patricia S. McManus
Soil Science: Alfred E. Hartemink