Ten UW-Madison Outstanding Sophomores recognized by WALSAA

Congratulations to WALSAA’s 10 Outstanding Sophomores for 2018. Pictured (left to right): CALS Dean Kate VandenBosch, Emily Matzke, Brooke Trustem, Jinal Lal Patel, Dhanya Attipetty, Samantha Busch, Anna Schmidt, Grace Padgett, Anna Walther, Abby Rothering and WALSAA President Marjorie Stieve.

The Wisconsin Agricultural and Life Sciences Alumni Association (WALSAA) recently continued its proud tradition of promoting student excellence at UW–Madison. After receiving a number of applications, the WALSAA scholarship committee narrowed down its search for the Top 10 Outstanding Sophomores through a rigorous prescreening process that focused equally on academic achievement, campus involvement/leadership, community service and relevant experience. From there, twenty students were selected to interview in front of a panel of three WALSAA members. Ten final awardees were selected based on interview performance and each student received a $2,000 scholarship from WALSAA.

WALSAA’s Outstanding Sophomore Awardees for 2018 include:

  • Dhanya Attipetty, Oak Creek, Biology
  • Samantha Busch, Blue Mounds, Biochemistry
  • Emily Matzke, Sauk City, Animal Science
  • Grace Padgett, Burtonsville, Maryland, Biochemistry
  • Jinal Lal Patel, West Salem, Microbiology
  • Abby Rothering, Richland Center, Biology
  • Anna Schmidt, Rochester, Minnesota, Biology and Environmental Sciences
  • Jessica Strosahl, Menomonee Falls, Dietetics
  • Brooke Trustem, Evansville, Dairy Science
  • Anna Walther, Bristol, Community and Environmental Sociology

WALSAA (Wisconsin Agricultural and Life Sciences Alumni Association) is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization that supports the connection of students, faculty and alumni to the University of Wisconsin’s College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, known as CALS. Established in 1972, WALSAA has embarked on a remarkable journey of service and fellowship with alumni and friends of CALS. For more information on WALSAA visit