Trina McMahon, Jade Wang elected Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology

CALS’ Katherine “Trina” McMahon and Jue “Jade” Wang are among 96 scientists from around the world recently elected Fellows of the American Academy of Microbiology.

McMahon and Wang are both professors of bacteriology. Fellows are elected annually through a highly selective, peer-review process, based on their records of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology.

There are over 2,400 Fellows representing all subspecialties of the microbial sciences and involved in basic and applied research, teaching, public health, industry, and government service. In addition, Fellows hail from all around the globe. The “Class of 2018″ represents fellows from Bangladesh, the Netherlands, Switzerland, China, Israel, Austria, Sweden, Belgium, the UK and America.