Celebrate your colleagues at the CALS Awards ceremony this Wednesday

The CALS Awards ceremony and reception is this Wednesday, May 4, at 3:00 p.m. in the Ebling Auditorium in the Microbial Sciences Building. The event will celebrate the college’s 2016 honorees, including CALS faculty and staff award winners and faculty awarded professorships during the past year. Following the ceremony, a reception will be held in the Microbial Sciences Building’s first floor atrium.

At the recommendation of the college’s Committee on Academic Staff Issues (CASI), this year’s faculty and staff awards program will also include recognition of new CALS employees (hired since July 1, 2015), as well as employees who have served the college for 40+, 30+, 20+ and 10+ years. Dean VandenBosch will ask CALS employee’s meeting these descriptions to stand and be recognized at the beginning of the program.

This year’s honorees are:

Excellence in International Activities Award
Pamela Ruegg • Dairy Science

University Staff Awards
Ellen Anlauf • Horticulture
Charles Breneman • Arlington Agricultural Research Station
Bill Omdahl • Nutritional Sciences

Academic Staff Award for Excellence in Leadership
Bernadette O’Rourke • Animal Sciences

Academic Staff Award for Excellence in Research
Sangita Murali • Nutritional Sciences

Academic Staff Award for Excellence in Service
Mark E. Johnson • Center for Dairy Research

J. S. Donald Short Course Teaching Award
Barry Kleppe • School of Veterinary Medicine

Spitzer Excellence in Teaching Award
Sam Butcher • Biochemistry

WALSAA Outstanding Advisor Award
Heidi Goodrich-Blair • Bacteriology

Arthur J. Maurer Extra Mile Award
Tom Crenshaw • Animal Sciences

Pound Research Award
David Pagliarini • Biochemistry

Pound Extension Award
Jeff Sindelar • Animal Sciences

Equity and Diversity Award
Sharon Long • Soil Science

Robert G. F. and Hazel T. Spitze Land Grant Faculty Award for Excellence
Mark Cook • Animal Sciences

Professorships named during the past year:

Ira L. Baldwin Professorship in Bacteriology
Cameron Currie • Bacteriology

Beers-Bascom Professorship in Conservation
Timothy Van Deelen • Forest and Wildlife Ecology

B. Fred Professorship in Bacteriology
Michael Thomas • Bacteriology

Friday Chair for Vegetable Production Research
Amy Charkowski • Plant Pathology

Gottschalk Chair for Cranberry Research
Amaya Atucha • Horticulture

Douglas D. Sorenson Professorship and Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor
Ken F. Raffa • Entomology
Laura Kiessling • Biochemistry

William C. Winder Bascom Professorship
James Steele • Food Science