The recipients of the 2016-17 CALS Graduate Fellowship Awards announced

The College of Agricultural and Life Sciences (CALS) has selected the 2016-17 graduate fellowship recipients. The College would like to thank the donors for making these awards possible and the selection committees that reviewed the nominations.

The estate of Elsa Thomsen established the Louis and Elsa Thomsen Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowships to support graduate students who demonstrate excellence in research. Three fellowships will be awarded for 2016-17. The recipients include:

  • Allison Didychuk – Biophysics Graduate Degree Program, PI – Samuel Butcher, Department of Biochemistry
  • Amanda McMillan Lequieu, Sociology, PI – Michael Bell, Department of Community & Environmental Sociology
  • Thiago Santos, Microbiology Doctoral Training Program, PI – Douglas Weibel, Department of Biochemistry

The Wisconsin Potato & Vegetable Growers Association established the Wisconsin Potato Industry Board Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship to support a graduate student who demonstrates excellence in research in the areas of ground water resources or potato research. The recipient of the 2016-17 award is:

  • Mallika Nocco, Environment and Resources Degree Program, PI – Christopher    Kucharik, Department of Agronomy

The Senator Robert Caldwell Fellowship was established by Grace Caldwell Hopkins to support excellence in graduate research on behalf of her father, Senator Robert Caldwell. The recipient of the 2016-17 award is:

  •  Kalie Mix – Integrated Program in Biochemistry, PI – Ron Raines, Department of Biochemistry

Congratulations to all of the recipients of the 2016-17 CALS fellowship awards.