UW–Madison Smart Restart: For information about fall semester instruction and campus operations, please visit For COVID-19 news updates, see

Doris Slesinger Award for Excellence in Mentoring

Do you know someone in our academic community who has provided excellent mentoring for women faculty? If so, please consider nominating him or her for the Women Faculty Mentoring Program’s Doris Slesinger Award for Excellence in Mentoring. This award will be presented at the Women Faculty Mentoring Program’s annual Reception for Newly Promoted and Tenured Women from 4 – 6 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 2 in Union South (check TITU for room number).

To nominate a member of our academic community for this award, please reply by Wednesday, 12 November, including the following information in your response:

The mentor’s…
Campus Address:
Telephone Number:
E-mail Address:

…and a brief (equivalent of one page) description of how he or she has excelled as a mentor.

An effective mentor may:
* offer advice about professional issues
* review and give feedback on key projects
* provide information about institutional resources
* introduce a mentee to others in her discipline or related fields
* communicate the “unspoken rules” of university life
* offer guidance on how to balance personal and professional commitments
* help mentees find appropriate and effective ways to raise concerns, address issues, or solve problems.

Nominations of mentors who have supported more than one woman faculty member are strongly encouraged. A nomination may be submitted by a group
of writers or a single writer. Administrative nominations that include/reflect the voices of women faculty proteges also are encouraged.

Recipients of the Doris Slesinger Award for Excellence in Mentoring include:
1998: Doris P. Slesinger (Rural Sociology — now Community & Environmental Sociology)
1999: Florencia Mallon (History)
2000: David L. DeMets (Biostatistics & Medical Informatics)
2001: Laurie Beth Clark (Art)
2002: Betsy Draine (English)
2003: Molly Carnes (Medicine: Geriatrics & Adult Development)
2004: Evelyn Howell (Landscape Architecture)
2005: Judith Burstyn (Chemistry)
2006: Virginia Sapiro (Political Science)
2007: Margie Rosenberg (Actuarial Science, Risk Management & Insurance; Biostatistics & Medical Informatics)
2008: Anne Miner (Management & Human Resources)
2009: Stephanie Robert (School of Social Work)
2010: Alberta Gloria (Counseling Psychology)
2011: Wendy Crone (Engineering Physics)
2012: Diane Bless (Communication Sciences & Disorders; Surgery)
2013: Beth Graue (Curriculum & Instruction)

Thank you for helping us to promote effective mentoring at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.