Campus-wide furlough dates adjusted for 2010-11 year

The University of Wisconsin-Madison is in its second year of state-mandated employee furloughs and has adjusted the date of one of the designated campuswide furlough days for the 2010-11 school year.

Sixteen unpaid furlough days are required of state employees during the 2009-11 budget cycle. In each budget year, which begins on July 1, university employees must take eight furlough days, four of which are designated campuswide with the remaining four being selected based on employee preference.

The designated campuswide furlough days for the 2010-11 academic year are Friday, Nov. 26 (day after Thanksgiving); Thursday, Dec. 30 (the day before New Year’s Eve); Friday, March 18 (the last day of spring break); and Monday, May 16 (the day after commencement weekend).

The final campuswide furlough day of the academic year has been changed to Monday, May 16, from Friday, May 20. The change was made to accommodate the 2011 National Science Olympiad Tournament, an event that will draw 5,000 students, parents, judges and others to campus from May 18-21.

The dates for all designated furlough days were chosen to avoid interfering with any instruction and to minimize disruption for the university community.

On these days, the campus will be closed for all but essential services. Exceptions will be made for critical services in such areas as patient care, police, power plant, housing and animal care.

Although most state offices will be closed on Monday, Oct. 11, for a statewide furlough day, UW-Madison will remain open.

For more information on furloughs, visit or contact Darrell Bazzell, 608-263-2467,