WALSAA honors CALS sophomores

The Wisconsin Agricultural and Life Sciences Alumni Association (WALSAA) is pleased to announce the Outstanding Sophomore Award recipients for the 2010–2011 school year.

This award is presented to students currently enrolled in the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences at the University of Wisconsin-Madison who have demonstrated excellence. Each student is awarded a financial gift to apply toward tuition in their junior year. Students are evaluated based on their academic achievements, service to the school and community, experience in their field of study and a face-to-face interview.

WALSAA will present a plaque and $1,800 scholarship to each the following students: Brianne Gohlke, Janesville, Wis.; Curtis Horsens, Cecil, Wis.; Emily Barker, Marshfield, Wis.; Jesse Dahir-Kanehl, Sauk City, Wis.; Joe Simonett, Minnetonka, Minn.; Katherine Mitchell, Greendale, Wis.; Laura Elliott, Marshall, Wis.; Zeeshan Ul Haq, Rochester, Minn.; Danielle Brown, Dodgeville, Wis.; and Tawny Chandler, Rice Lake, Wis.

WALSAA is a 501(c) (3) charitable organization that supports the connection of students, faculty and alumni to the University of Wisconsin’s College of Agricultural and Life Sciences.  All donations are 100% tax deductible.  For more information about WALSAA, visit