Apply by Dec. 21 for State Department’s Jefferson Science Fellows program

The articulation of “accurate science for statecraft” to policy makers has become an essential element in establishing effective international relationships in the 21st century. Recognizing this need, the U.S. Department of State created the Jefferson Science Fellows (JSF) program which established a new model for engaging the American academic STE communities in the formulation and implementation of U.S. foreign policy.

The JSF program is administered by the National Academies and supported through a partnership between American philanthropic foundations (the MacArthur Foundation and the Carnegie Corporation), the U.S. STE academic community, professional scientific societies, and the U.S. Department of State.

Nominees and applicants must be U.S. citizens and must hold a tenured
faculty position at a U.S. degree granting academic institution of higher

Terms of the Fellowship
Each Fellow will spend one year at the U.S. Department of State for an on-site assignment in Washington, D.C. that may also involve extended stays at U.S. foreign embassies and/or missions.

The Jefferson Science Fellow will receive a stipend of $50,000 from funding provided by the Department of State, the MacArthur Foundation and the Carnegie Corporation. The stipend is intended to offset the costs of temporary living quarters in the Washington, D.C. area. During their one-year assignment at the U.S. Department of State, the salary and benefits of the Fellow will be paid by the academic institution at which the tenured appointment is held. The Fellow’s home academic institution will be expected to execute a Memorandum of Understanding (JSF/MOU) with the U.S. Department of State to document this support.

Following the fellowship year, the Jefferson Science Fellow will return to his/her academic career, but will remain available to the U.S. Department of State for short-term projects over the following five years.

Nominations and Applications
Please visit <> for complete nomination/application procedures. Applications are due in the Provost’s Office, 150 Bascom Hall, by 4:00 p.m. on Friday, December 21. A small committee to select two nominees to advance in this competition will be formed.

Questions may be addressed to Eden Inoway-Ronnie, Special Assistant to the Provost (265-5975, <>).