Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award: June 1 deadline

In 2004, the Peter and Patricia Gruber Foundation awarded the first Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award of $25,000 a year for three years to help support research. The foundation is again offering $75,000 to a young woman geneticist from anywhere in the world who is in her first one to three years of an independent faculty-level position in any realm of genetics. The application deadline is June 1, 2007.

The award may be used for any purpose that advances the genetics research of the recipient except for salary support of the recipient herself.
The award recipient will be chosen by a joint committee appointed by the Genetics Society of America (GSA), the American Society of Human Genetics (ASHG), and the Peter and Patricia Gruber Foundation. The committee members are:

  • Marian Carlson, PhD, Columbia University
  • Beverly S. Emanuel, PhD, Children’s Hospital Philadelphia
  • Judith E. Kimble, PhD, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Mary-Claire King, PhD, University of Washington, Seattle
  • Amy E. Pasquinelli, PhD, University of California, San Diego
  • Leena Peltonen-Palotie, MD, PhD, University of Helsinki and National Public Health Institute, Finland
  • Janet D. Rowley, MD, PhD, University of Chicago

For more information and to apply for the career development research award, please go to .