Jefferson Science Fellows Program deadline extended

Based on the great success of the Jefferson Science Fellows Program, the Department of State will award up to 10 fellowships in 2007. As a result, the deadline for nominations/applications has been extended to January 31, 2007.

On behalf of the U.S. Department of State, Office of the Science and Technology Adviser, the National Academies is pleased to announce a call for nominations and applications for the 2007 Jefferson Science Fellows program. This program establishes a new model for engaging the American academic science, technology and engineering communities in the formulation and implementation of U.S. foreign policy.

Jefferson Science Fellows will spend one year at the U.S. Department of State in Washington D.C. and may periodically travel to U.S. foreign embassies and/or missions. Following their one year tenure, Jefferson Science Fellows will return to their academic institutions, but will remain available to the U.S. government as an experienced consultant for short-term projects over the following five years.

Jefferson Science Fellow awards are open to tenured academic scientists, technologists and engineers from U.S. institutions of higher learning. Nominees/applicants must be U.S. citizens and will be required to obtain a security clearance.

Detailed information on the Jefferson Science Fellows Program is available on the web: The deadline for nominations and applications for the 2007 Program is January 31, 2007. The Jefferson Science Fellows program is supported through a partnership between the MacArthur Foundation, the Carnegie Corporation, the U.S. science, technology and engineering academic community, professional scientific societies, and the U.S. Department of State. Nominations and applications from women and minorities are particularly encouraged.

If you have any questions please contact Gwen Roby at 202-334-2643 or Email: