CALS Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Student Fellowships Awarded

CALS Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Student Fellowships Awarded

The Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowships and the Robert Caldwell Fellowship have been awarded for 2011-12, and the College congratulates all of these fellowship recipients. We also want to thank the donors for making these awards possible, the faculty who submitted nominations, and the committees that reviewed nominations.

The Louis and Elsa Thomsen Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowships were established by the estate of Elsa Thomsen and are designated to support graduate students who have established an outstanding research record.  Four fellowships have been awarded for 2011-2012.  The recipients of the fellowships are: Nathan Bruender, Department of Biochemistry; Madeleine Fairbairn, Community and Environmental Sociology; Rachid Laajaj, Agricultural and Applied Economics; and Jessica Shivas, Department of Genetics

The Wisconsin Potato Industry Board Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship for 2011-2012 has been awarded to Anders Schmidt Huseth, Department of Entomology.  This fellowship was endowed by the Wisconsin Potato Industry Board for the purpose of funding a graduate fellowship in potato research.

The Senator Robert Caldwell Fellowship has been awarded to Ye Jin (Jenna) Eun in the Department of Biochemistry.  This fellowship was established by Grace Caldwell Hopkins to support graduate research on behalf of her father, Senator Robert Caldwell.

Again, our congratulations to all the recipients of this year’s awards, and our thanks to the donors who made these awards possible.